ChicMe WW

What we spend: Two single creatives living as housemates in Sydney

By Jemima Skelley|

Household finances can be a tricky thing to manage, especially when you're living with someone who has different financial habits than you do.

With our What We Spend series, we're taking a look at the different ways Aussie ?couples and housemates spend their money each week.

This week, we chatted to Hadley and Andy*, two housemates and creatives, living in an inner-city suburb of Sydney.

Hadley: A 30-year-old journalist who earns $73,000 per year.

Andy: A 31-year-old freelance creative who averages the equivalent of $77,000 per year.

READ MORE: The millennial money myth Victoria Devine is about to prove wrong?

Roommates having breakfast together before morning classes at university.
Hadley and Andy are housemates from Sydney. (Getty)

What are your weekly bills/expenses? Any savings?

Hadley:

Rent: $330
?Groceries: $65
Public transport: $32
Streaming services: $12
Meditation app subscription: $4
Phone: $24
Utilities: averages $17/week, billed quarterly
Health insurance: $24
Pet food: $18
Emergency fund: $100
Savings: $200

Total weekly spend for Hadley:? $826

Andy:

?Rent: $380
?Groceries: $40
Streaming services: $12
Adobe subscriptions: $28
Phone: $13
Utilities: averages $17/week, billed quarterly
Gym: $22
Credit card debt repayment: $80

Total weekly spend for Andy:? $592

?What are your thoughts on your spending habits? Do you spend much outside your weekly regular expenses?

Hadley: My weekly expenses are pretty standard, I think.? Every week I put $100 in an emergency fund to have me covered in case something goes wrong. In the past I've tapped into it to book flights for a holiday (oops), but it's reassuring to know I've got the cash there if I ever need it. I aim to save $200 a week as well, though I'm not saving up for anything in particular.

READ MORE: Save hundreds on popular robot vacuums in Amazon flash sale

While sitting in a coffee shop, an unrecognizable woman uses a banking app. She is checking her account balance.
Hadley puts money in an emergency fund every week. (Getty)

Andy:? As a freelancer, it can be hard to relax with my finances 每 I never know when the work may suddenly dry up. I also have some big work-related expenses, like higher rent (I use our spare room as an office) and Adobe software subscriptions. I have a pretty big credit card debt to pay off, which I try to do every month.

Monday

Hadley: ?I work from home on Mondays, so I didn't spend anything all day.

Andy: I took an Uber to and back from a shoot, which totalled $45. I can claim these on tax, which is great. ?I bought lunch and a coffee, for $22, but cooked dinner at home.

Tuesday

Hadley: I bought a sandwich for lunch, which was $14. On the way home I stopped at the pharmacy 每 I have a script for medicinal marijuana and picked up my monthly supply. It's $300, which is steep but it really helps.

Andy: I just stayed home all day, but bought a coffee while on a walk for $5.20. After work I went to a yoga class with a friend, which cost $18.

Wednesday

Hadley: I bought a coffee, $4.80, and got free lunch at work. I had dinner with some friends, we split a bunch of dishes and paid $24 each, then I took a $11 Uber home.

Andy: I simply couldn't focus on anything at home, so I camped out in a cafe and worked from there for the day. I bought two coffees and a salad, so my bill was $27. I had dinner with Hadley and some friends, which was $24, plus $12 on some beers that I brought.

READ MORE: What Tara started in her parents' laundry made millions?

Group holiday party of asian people Eating dinner and drinking beer at home
Andy says that he spends most of his money on eating and drinking out. (Getty Images/iStockphoto)

Thursday

Hadley: I didn't spend anything today, as I went straight home after work and cooked dinner.

Andy: I spent the night at my boyfriend's place, and we ordered pizza. I paid because he bought dinner last week 每 it was $35.

Friday

Hadley: I worked from home, then had a movie night at a friend's place. I bought a $17 bottle of wine on the way over, and got a $22 Uber home.

Andy: After working from home for the day, I went out to dinner and drinks with some friends. I spent $85 all up.

Celebrities who have launched their own side hustles

Saturday

Hadley: My friend drove me to the beach, so I bought both of our coffees, $11. I stayed home all arvo and evening, but spent $175 online shopping as I need some new clothes for summer.

Andy: I went to the markets and spent $45 on a juice, a pot plant, and a new shirt. I cooked dinner but spent $30 on some booze.

For a daily dose of 9Honey, subscribe to our newsletter here

Woman in cafe shopping online with laptop
Online shopping is one thing Hadley spends a lot on. (Getty)

Sunday?

Hadley: Andy and I went out for a long walk and brunch, where I spent $24. I also spotted a chic lamp in a vintage store on the way home, which cost me $55.

Andy: Brunch was $28, and then I bought a bunch of books from a second-hand shop for $15.

Total weekly spend for Hadley:? $657.80

Total weekly spend for Andy:? $391.20

Final thoughts

Hadley: I wouldn't say that I'm responsible with my spending habits, but I'm not too bad. The medicinal marijuana was a big expense this week, as was my online shopping, but I didn't go over the top.

Andy:? Going out and eating/drinking are definitely my main expenses. It's something I could probably try to cut down on a bit but I'm a social guy and I love going out.

*Names have been changed.?

If you would like to participate in 9Honey's What We Spend money diaries, please email jskelley@nine.com.au.

The information provided on this website is general in nature only and does not constitute personal financial advice. The information has been prepared without taking into account your personal objectives, financial situation or needs. Before acting on any information on this website you should consider the appropriateness of the information having regard to your objectives, financial situation and needs.

Property News: This five-bedroom, six-bathroom home at 671 Lincoln Avenue in Winnetka, Illinois is very familiar.